May 30, 2018 News

Birthdays: May 30, Tammy McAllistar, Sharon Lytle; May 32, Kameron Petz, Vicky Foos; June 1, Jackie Casey; June 2, Kenneth Foster, Jordan Janke; June 3, Tim Rues, Clayton Herdman, Kathy Norlin, Anton Foust; June 4, Zachary Simmerman, Natalee North; June 5, Marlene Bronish.

Anniversaries: June 1, Don and DeAnna Bergquist (50), Dean and Kim Jay; June 2, Jerry and Karen Casey; June 3, Greg and Beverly Buster; June 4, Mike and Jerilyn Stull; June 5, Norman and Malinda Anderson.

Don and DeAnna Bergquist are celebrating their 50th Wedding Anniversary on June 1. The family is requesting a card shower for them. Please send to P. O. Box 33, McCracken, KS 67556-0033.

Reminder, Burial services for Sherry Eisenhour is Saturday, June 2 at 3:00 p.m. at McCracken City Cemetery. She is the wife of Dwight Eisenhour.

Those helping with the mass at St. Mary's Catholic Church on Saturday, May 26 were Rosary, Phyllis Conrad and Carolyn Thompson, Sacristan and Server, Roy Conrad, Lector, Pam Pavlu, Choir, Michele Moran and Arline Rues, Organist, Susan Keith, gifts, Phyllis Conrad and Jean Schutte; collections, Jason and Josh Moran. Father Eric was the celebrant. Despite the heat outside it was cool in the church.

Those helping with the rosary at St. Mary's Cemetery on Memorial Day were Twila Higgins, Phyllis Conrad, Jeanette McCormick, Jean Schutte, Carolyn Thompson, Shirley Higgins and Pat Petz.

The military services were held at St. Mary's Cemetery and McCracken City Cemetery. Members of West -Burch American Legion Post 59 and Sons of the American Legion conducted the services. Arlyn North, Commander, Travis Elias, Gettsburg Address; Flanders Field, Lynnette Doornbos and Answer to Flanders Field, Kerri Morgan; Honor Guard, Ty Elias, Richard Showalter, Brett Gilbert, Mitch Jacobs and Mike Conner; Firing Squad, Larry Bracken, Martin Higgins, Jake Tomlinson, Will Zeller, Mark McCormick, Bryan Harp and Gary Barnes. The choir was led by Arlene Gilbert. Sally Jacobs sounded Taps. Other veterans were Bob Funk, Tony Harp, Babe Gilbert, Wilfrid Higgins and Deb Gaunt.

Kansas Facts:
In 1912 The first women's jury in Kansas entered the jury room in El Dorado on December 2. They paused, uncertain what to do. One said, “I believe we should pray”. They bowed their heads in silent prayer, listened attentively to instructions, and returned a verdict in three hours.

In 1915 Dwight D. Eisenhower graduated from the U. S. Military Academy at West Point with the rank of second lieutenant.

.In 1925 Walter Anderson, Wichita, one of the founders of the White Castle eating houses and known as the “Hamburger King” operated 22 White Castles. He bought the first one in Wichita with a loan of $60.

In 1942 a prisoner of war camp was built in Concordia.

In 1920 the O'Henry candy bar was invented by Tom Henry of Arkansas City. The candy bar was originally called “Tom Henry' but was changed later when Mr. Henry sold the rights to his candy bar to a candy company.


Both cemeteries, St. Mary’s Catholic and McCracken City looked beautiful Memorial Day. Doug and Mary Higgins and grandson Devin mowed the Catholic Cemetery and Kevin Anderson and his crew did the City. Great job and was very much appreciated.

Teresa Lovitt was an afternoon visitor of Shirley Higgins.

There were 50 who attended Mass at St. Mary’s Church Saturday evening.

Cathy and Ron Casey have spent a few days staying at their home in McCracken.

The golf team of Sean Peters, Brian Harp, Ty Elias and Nathan Felder won the golf tournament Saturday.

The dinner was well attended at the Community Building Memorial Day. Thanks for supporting the swimming pool.

The McCracken Library has been rockin'! Thanks to a literacy grant from Dollar General we've been able to offer some fun activities and incentives to read. Tuesday we read Bantam of the Opera, and painted our own roosters to take home. Wednesday brought us Pam Martin, educator, from Kansas Wetlands Education Center, along with some frogs, an owl and bat! Pam shared the different songs and calls a variety of animals employ. Thursday we read Giraffes Can't Dance, followed by learning some dance moves to Boot Scootin' Boogie and painting rocks to form into a giraffe. Those attending these past 3 days were Tenley Wittman from Bazine, Owen, Evelyn and Quade Keener, Clayton Sewell, Kamryn, Saydie, and Quinn Anderson, Harper McCormick, John Doornbos and his friends Kelby, Ryland and CJ, Kaydence and Gage Kendall, Myriam and Jacob DeCharme. Prizes were given throughout the week for filling in their reading incentive sheet, attending and helping Anita find the book she misplaced. Owen Keener got a prize for turning in the first hour on his reading log and Gage Kendall received a Kindness Award, he gave the prize he won to another as she was really wanting to win those swim rings. Several since have returned their hours for reading, each hour of reading gains them a chance to win a Kindle Fire to be drawn July 31st.

Hope everyone will join us at 3:00 Friday, June 1st at the City Building as we host Priscilla Howe, professional storyteller. All ages are welcome!!!

History Notes:
August 30, 1907 Walnut Grove played the McCracken basketball team again at this place Saturday with a score of 8-11. The Walnut Grove team has been considered the champions of the county, but the town girls are also beginning to learn considerable about the game and are getting better from week to week.

Sept. 6 1907 A game of ball was played at Hargrave Monday afternoon between the Smoky Hill and Hargrave nines, which resulted in favor of Smoky Hill 6-4. Lineup for Smoky Hill was George Joseph, George Ree, Harry Seiling, Will Foster, Jess Getenard, M. Moore, Dick Carter, L. Joseph and. H.Derr. For Hargrave, Ivy Irvin, Ray Brenner, Guy Chase, Rolla Irvin, Wm. Brenner, Guy Chase, Thos. Sutton, Ed Prior, Clarence Sutton and Robert Belcher.

December 19, 1913 Bazine played the McCracken High school in a game of basketball at the Opera House Saturday night. This was a fast game from start to finish, both teams doing excellent work. The spectacular plays were made by Coughenour, Cutler and Henning. The lineup was as follows: Cutler, Coughenor, Len Lovitt, Donecker, Thompson and Stock. Mc won final score 17 to 20.


©2018, McCracken Alumni Association
questions or suggestions for this site? email the